Mercedes-Benz of Buffalo Fashion Week

The official blog of Mercedes-Benz of Buffalo Fashion Week. September 19-27, 2013. info(at)buffalofashionweek(dot)com

Queen City Gems: Steven Bales

Tell us your name and a little bit about yourself and what you do.

My name is Steven Bales and I now run Bales Clothing with a few partners, who design, publicize and promote Bales Clothing as well. We are currently working on our spring/summer 2013 collection and creating more awareness of our growing company with public icons, local and national celebrities.

Where are you from and where did you go to school?

I was born July 1, 1985 in Albert Einstein Hospital located in the Bronx, NY. My mother is of African American and Chinese decent and my father is of Puerto-Rican and Filipino decent. I was the third child and the second of fraternal twins. I went to P.S. 83 in the Bronx where I discovered that I wanted to pursue a career in fashion. Then, I went on to Fashion Industries H.S. in Manhattan and graduated with a fashion accredited degree.

What made you realize that you wanted to work in the fashion/ industry?

Throughout H.S., I was being mentored and guided into the fashion world through internships and independent fashion-forward individuals. I made the choice to branch out on my own and this is when I decided to attend the University at Buffalo. I studied fashion design for 4.5 years and made a decision to stop attending school and focus on my goals and dreams.

What is your favorite part of what you do?

It’s hard to say, I actually love what I do. Even when I think it’s tough or stressful, I always learn something new that can propel me forward. But, if I had to choose one favorite part, it would have to be after my collection comes out… And I am walking down the runway taking a deep breath and exhaling, knowing I put on a great show!

What is your favorite thing about Buffalo? And where are your favorite places to shop/eat/etc?

My favorite characteristic of the city of Buffalo is the general hospitality that I have received over the nine years of living in here. I also enjoy the laid-back atmosphere. A lot of my friends say I belong in California!

Some of my favorite places to shop whether it is for me or for gifts are “Lotions & Potions,” boutiques, “Spoiled Rotten,” “Urban Threads” and a new favorite of mine is “Bay-6 Clothing Company.”

How would you describe your personal style?

I like to use the terminology known as “Urban Casual.” I like to look clean and neat, and stylish at the same time. 🙂

What advice would you give someone who wants to get involved in the fashion industry?

Get around the heat. Find the people who are making moves in your community or city and stick to them like glue. “Birds of a feather flock together.” Meaning, if you want to be successful, get around successful people. If you want to live an awesome lifestyle, get around some people who have an awesome lifestyle. And most importantly, ask a ton of questions!

What is your favorite trend for the upcoming season?

To be honest, Bales Clothing’s new Winter/Spring Collection. It’s filled with soft, comfy and form fitting knits. You can expect to see some of these new designs at the “Runway on the Water” fashion show on September 28, 2012.

Hannah

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 30, 2012 by in Queen City Gems and tagged , , , .

Don't miss out on the latest news from the Fashion Week team! Subscribe to receive updates via email!

